| Field | Detail | Source(s) |
|---|---|---|
| Agency Name | University of California Riverside Police Department (UCRPD) | diversity.ucr.edu |
| Established | 1954, concurrent with UC Riverside’s founding as a College of Letters and Science | UCR institutional records |
| Legal Authority | California Penal Code §830.2(b) (sworn peace officers); California Education Code §92600 (primary jurisdiction over UC-owned properties plus one-mile perimeter) | California Penal Code; Education Code |
| POST Status | POST-participating agency. All officers hold POST certification. Job postings appear on post.ca.gov. Department directs complainants to file with POST. Officers subject to SB 2 certification/decertification requirements effective January 1, 2023. | post.ca.gov; UCRPD institutional records |
| Sworn Officers | 23 sworn officers as documented in the 2022 Hawkins Company executive recruitment brochure. Current staffing level as of March 2026 not independently verified in available public records. | Hawkins Company Brochure, 2022 |
| Non-Sworn Staff | 17 non-sworn civilian staff; approximately 25 part-time student Community Service Officers; 4 unarmed non-sworn campus safety responders (added 2022) | UCR News, July 20, 2022 |
| Annual Budget | Approximately $9 million (approximately 1.2% of UCR’s core operating budget). Approximate figure based on 2020 student newspaper budget analysis. Current appropriated amount not independently verified. The City of Riverside’s August 2024 lawsuit alleges the department has been “partially defunded” since this estimate was reported. | Highlander, 2020; City of Riverside vs. UC Regents, August 23, 2024 |
| Campus Population | 27,633 students as of Fall 2025 (largest cohort in UCR history); 24,034 undergraduates; 39% Latino, 32% Asian, 48% Pell Grant-eligible | UCR Facts & Figures — ucr.edu |
| Officer Demographics | 88% male; 60% White; 24% Hispanic/Latino; 8% Black; 4% Asian — on a campus where White students represent approximately 11.7% of enrollment. As reported in CalMatters’ March 2021 analysis and the 2022 Hawkins Company executive recruitment brochure; current demographic composition not independently verified as of March 2026. | CalMatters, March 2021; Hawkins Company Brochure, 2022 |
| Jurisdiction | Approximately 1,200 acres: 1,112-acre main campus (bisected by State Route 60) plus 20-acre Palm Desert branch campus. Located three miles east of downtown Riverside (population ~328,000). | UCR institutional records |
| Response Times | Approximately 3 minutes for 911 calls; 4 minutes for fire/medical emergencies, as reported in UCR Police Accountability Board meeting minutes, 2023–2024; not independently verified as official departmental performance data. The Police Accountability Board separately documented a 50% year-to-date increase in calls for service with no corresponding staffing increase. | UCR PAB meeting minutes, 2023–2024 |
| Current Chief | Jeffrey “Jeff” Talbott, Director of Campus Safety Services and Chief of Police (December 12, 2022–present). Riverside native. 29 years California Highway Patrol (retired as Chief, Inland Division). 11 years University of Redlands (non-sworn public safety department). Reports to Dr. Denise Woods, Vice Chancellor for Health, Well-Being and Safety. | Inside UCR, December 6, 2022 |
| IACLEA Accreditation | Pursuing accreditation. Not yet accredited as of January 2025 UC Regents Compliance and Audit Committee report. One of four UC campuses not yet accredited. | UC Regents C4, January 22, 2025 |
| Oversight Body | Police Accountability Board (PAB), operational February 3, 2023. Chaired by Dr. Mariam Lam, Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Civilian complaints investigated by separate Office of Compliance (not internally by police). Advisory recommendations only — Chief retains final authority over discipline. | diversity.ucr.edu/ucr-police-accountability-board |
| Union Representation | Federated University Police Officers’ Association (FUPOA). UCR holds particular prominence in FUPOA’s organizational history. | federateduniversitypoa.org |
All incidents are presented in complete chronological order. Pre-mandatory reporting era incidents are included to document patterns of conduct predating current mandates. Applicable laws and POST reporting requirements are identified for each incident.
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | Two UCRPD officers stopped graduate student Maurice Webb, ordered him to drop his possessions, told him he “fit the description” of a suspect, and attempted to photograph him. The UC Riverside Highlander published an investigation on May 18, 1993. Managing Editor Edwin Ramoran connected the incident to parallel struggles at UCLA and UC Irvine, framing it as a systemic institutional pattern across the UC system. The original article predates online archives and exists in physical or microfilm form; UCR Library completed digitization of the full Highlander archive (since 1954) to the Calisphere database circa 2022. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | RIPA/AB 953 not enacted until 2015; UC PD data collection did not begin until January 2022. However, POST training standards on bias-based policing, 14th Amendment equal protection, UC Police Policies and Administrative Procedures, and PC §13519.4 (racial profiling prohibition) were applicable at the time. |
| Compliance Status | PRE-MANDATORY — NO REPORTING MECHANISM EXISTED Included to establish documented pattern of conduct predating current mandates. |
| Source(s) | UC Riverside Highlander, May 18, 1993 (pre-digital; archived in Calisphere); Inside UCR, April 25, 2022 — insideucr.ucr.edu |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | Approximately 1,000 students protested tuition increases at a UC Board of Regents meeting held at UC Riverside. Protesters initiated a sit-in that displaced the Regents from their meeting room, then surrounded three senior UC administrators — Provost Lawrence Pitts, Senior VP Jack Stobo, and VP of Investments Marie Berggren — who were trapped in parking enforcement vehicles for over an hour. Approximately 100 UC police officers were reinforced by 100 additional officers from the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department and Riverside PD. UCRPD officers fired pepper balls at protesters. Student Anthony Lascano, 19, displayed wounds on both thighs and his right knee from the projectiles. Chief Mike Lane confirmed the use of pepper balls, stating they were deployed “to protect a fellow officer from getting seriously injured.” Three arrests were made, including two booked on felony assault-on-officer charges. Nine UC officers sustained minor injuries. The UCR Police Accountability Board subsequently confirmed this was the last time UCRPD used impact rounds from a launcher in any non-training environment. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | AB 48 not effective until January 1, 2022. However, PC §13652 (pre-AB 48 annual use-of-force reporting requirements) and POST use-of-force reporting guidelines were applicable. Mutual aid documentation requirements also applied across the two responding agencies. |
| Compliance Status | PRE-MANDATORY — AB 48 DID NOT YET EXIST No public record of POST or DOJ reporting located under then-applicable PC §13652 annual use-of-force reporting. Included to document pattern of crowd-control weapon use without confirmed reporting. |
| Source(s) | The Press-Enterprise, January 19, 2012 — pressenterprise.com; Davis Vanguard, January 2012 — davisvanguard.org; UCR PAB — diversity.ucr.edu |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | Following 13 campus-area armed robberies since January 2013, UCRPD increased patrols and hired private security. At a Chancellor’s Town Hall on April 4, 2013, African-American students reported systematic stops by campus police. Graduate student Aaron Jones, 27, described being approached by an officer while sitting in a car outside student apartments and asked “why we were there and if we were students.” Senior Philip Carroll-Johnson, 24, reported being stopped three times in four days, stating: “I’ve never experienced anything like this” in four years at UCR. Carroll-Johnson objected to university email alerts describing suspects as “two black men between 5’7” and 5’9” tall, wearing blue jeans and hoodies” — descriptions broad enough to encompass many African-American students. Graduate students Jerry Robertson and James Garrett also reported frequent stops without cause. Chief Mike Lane acknowledged all suspects in the robberies were African-American males but maintained that department policy barred racial profiling. This incident became the most frequently cited example of UCRPD racial profiling in subsequent reports, including the UAW 2865 “Policing in the UC” report (February 2021). |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | RIPA/AB 953 enacted 2015 but UC PD data collection did not begin until January 2022. PC §13519.4 (racial profiling prohibition, enacted 2000) was applicable. POST training standards on bias-based policing and 14th Amendment equal protection were applicable. |
| Compliance Status | PRE-MANDATORY — RIPA DATA COLLECTION NOT YET REQUIRED No reporting mechanism for stop data existed at the time. Included to document documented pattern of conduct predating current mandates. |
| Source(s) | The Press-Enterprise, April 4, 2013 — pressenterprise.com; UAW 2865, February 2021 (p.14, fn.59) — uaw2865.org |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | At approximately 1:00 a.m. on July 22, 2018, multiple 911 calls reported shots fired in the 600 block of West Blaine Street, just outside UCR’s northern boundary. UCRPD patrol units arrived first and spotted Juan Garcia, 38, walking northbound on Watkins Drive. When officers attempted contact, Garcia “produced a firearm, and an officer-involved shooting occurred,” per Riverside PD spokesperson Officer Ryan Railsback. Garcia was found with two pistols and an improvised firearm. He was hospitalized in critical condition at Riverside Community Hospital and died at approximately 2:20 p.m. on July 23. No officers or bystanders were injured. Riverside Police Department investigated the shooting. NO PUBLICLY AVAILABLE DISTRICT ATTORNEY RULING ON THIS SHOOTING WAS LOCATED IN AVAILABLE RECORDS — a documented transparency gap, as of the date of research for this chapter. This incident appears to be the single SB 1421 record that UCRPD acknowledged possessing but declined to release to Voice of San Diego in May 2020, citing the investigation as “still pending” — approximately two years after the shooting occurred. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | Government Code §12525.2 (DOJ reporting of officer-involved shootings — was already required at time of incident, July 2018); SB 1421 (effective January 1, 2019 — applied retroactively to existing records, requiring release upon taking effect); PC §832.7 (peace officer personnel records — OIS disclosure); AB 71 / PC §13012 (URSUS — Use of Force Incident Reporting System). NOTE: While SB 1421 took effect after the shooting, Government Code §12525.2 required DOJ notification at the time of the incident. |
| Compliance Status | NOT COMPLIANT — SB 1421 RECORD WITHHELD UCRPD acknowledged holding one SB 1421 record (identified as likely this incident) but refused to release it to Voice of San Diego in May 2020, citing a pending investigation — two years after the shooting. No DA ruling located in available public records as of the date of research for this chapter. Across the UC system, only two case files were released despite more than 200 recorded use-of-force incidents. |
| Source(s) | MyNewsLA.com, July 23, 2018 — mynewsla.com; The Press-Enterprise, July 2018 — pressenterprise.com; Voice of San Diego, May 12, 2020 — voiceofsandiego.org; UAW 2865, February 2021 — uaw2865.org |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | Twenty-year-old UCR student Tyler Hilliard collapsed and died during a fraternity outing to Mt. Rubidoux with Alpha Phi Alpha pledges. His family discovered text messages referring to the hike as “gold paddle day,” suggesting hazing activity. UCRPD collaborated with the Riverside Police Department in investigating the death as suspicious. The fraternity was placed on interim suspension by UCR and cease-and-desist status nationally. Final disposition of the investigation is not documented in available public records. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | Clery Act (20 U.S.C. §1092(f)) — reportable campus safety incident; California Education Code §§66430–66440 (hazing reporting requirements) |
| Compliance Status | N/A FOR POST — INVESTIGATION DOCUMENTED Law enforcement investigation conducted in collaboration with Riverside PD. Clery Act reporting status not independently verified. Included to document scope of UCRPD investigative activity. |
| Source(s) | KTLA 5 News, September 2018 — ktla.com |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | At approximately 6:30 p.m., a UCRPD officer driving a patrol vehicle struck a pedestrian exiting Lot #24 onto Canyon Crest Drive. UCR spokesperson Johnny Cruz confirmed the incident to the Highlander. No UCRPD Crime Alert was sent to the campus community, and nearly two weeks elapsed before the incident was publicly disclosed. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | Vehicle Code §20001 (duty to stop and render assistance); POST standards on officer-involved traffic incidents; Clery Act (potential timely warning obligation); department policy on incident reporting and public notification |
| Compliance Status | DELAYED DISCLOSURE — NO CRIME ALERT ISSUED No Crime Alert issued. Nearly two weeks elapsed before public disclosure. No record of POST notification located in available records. |
| Source(s) | UC Riverside Highlander, March/April 2019 — highlandernews.org (article archived in Highlander campus reporting). Incident confirmed by UCR spokesperson Johnny Cruz. |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | UCR students established a pro-Palestinian solidarity encampment on campus. University administration negotiated a peaceful resolution with student organizers. The university agreed to: form a divestment task force; post all investment portfolio companies publicly; discontinue Israeli study abroad programs; and review campus vendor contracts. ZERO ARRESTS were made. ZERO USE OF FORCE was employed by UCRPD. This outcome stood in documented contrast to other UC campuses during the same spring 2024 period: UCLA (more than 200 arrests, stun grenades, tear gas — CalMatters, May 2024); UCSD (64 arrests, pepper spray — Axios and UCSD Police official communications, 2024); UCI (47 arrests, officers from multiple law enforcement agencies across Orange County — OC Register, May 2024); and UC Santa Cruz (approximately 122 arrests — Lookout Santa Cruz, 2024). |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | AB 48 (PC §§13652, 13652.1) — no crowd-control weapons used, no reporting obligation triggered for this specific event; First Amendment assembly rights |
| Compliance Status | N/A — NO FORCE USED, NO ARRESTS No POST reporting obligation triggered by this specific incident. |
| Source(s) | ABC7, May 2024 — abc7.com; Highlander — highlandernews.org; ABC10 (FUPOA statement) — abc10.com; CalMatters (UCLA) — calmatters.org, May 2024; Axios / UCSD Police communications (UCSD) — axios.com, 2024; OC Register (UCI) — ocregister.com, May 2024; Lookout Santa Cruz (UCSC) — lookoutlocal.com, 2024 |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | UCR student Christopher Kim was charged with illegally building an AR-15 assault rifle in his campus apartment. Kim was simultaneously employed by UCRPD’s Highlander Safety Team — a civilian police employee position. The simultaneous employment raised publicly documented questions about the adequacy of background check procedures for civilian police employees. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | PC §30600 et seq. (assault weapons statutes); POST agency employment screening standards; department hiring and vetting policies for civilian employees |
| Compliance Status | N/A FOR POST REPORTING — VETTING QUESTION RAISED Not a POST-reportable incident per se. Included to document publicly raised questions about UCRPD civilian employee vetting procedures relevant to POST oversight of agency practices. |
| Source(s) | LA Daily News, May 7, 2024 — dailynews.com; CBS News LA, May 2024 — cbsnews.com; The Press-Enterprise, May 7, 2024 — pressenterprise.com |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | A LAist investigation published September 12, 2025 revealed that a UCRPD officer deployed less-lethal projectiles “at a person who was assaulting officers” while providing mutual aid to UC Berkeley police during 2024 protests. The LAist article is framed entirely within the context of AB 48, which governs the use of less-lethal kinetic energy projectiles and chemical agents during protests and demonstrations — not traditional firearms discharges. A companion LAist article (Source 32) states explicitly: “UC Riverside is one of the nine UC campus police forces without public-facing reports on their use of chemical agents and less-lethal projectiles.” UCRPD Lieutenant Jason Day confirmed the incident to LAist and acknowledged that the department HAD NOT REPORTED the less-lethal force deployment to the California Department of Justice — a step mandated by AB 48, which requires reporting of crowd-control weapon use within 60 days of deployment. Lt. Day cited department capacity issues as the reason for non-reporting, stating: “A lot of times things are just going to have to get set aside.” Day also stated: “There’s more homework on my part that needs to be done.” UCRPD had requested more than $10,000 worth of less-lethal munitions in September 2024, including 40mm less-lethal projectile launchers, which are governed by AB 48 and AB 481. UCRPD was among nine of ten UC campus police departments found non-compliant with AB 48 by the LAist investigation. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | AB 48 (PC §§13652, 13652.1) — MANDATORY reporting of crowd-control weapon use (kinetic energy projectiles and chemical agents) within 60 days of deployment, extendable to 90 days; requires documentation of crowd size, officer count, type of projectile or agent, rounds deployed, injuries documented, and de-escalation tactics attempted. NOTE: Government Code §12525.2 (DOJ reporting of traditional officer-involved firearms discharges) and AB 71/URSUS reporting apply to incidents involving firearm discharge; the LAist source and Lt. Day’s on-record admission are framed exclusively within AB 48’s less-lethal/crowd-control reporting framework. POST use-of-force reporting requirements also applicable. |
| Compliance Status | NOT COMPLIANT — CONFIRMED ON RECORD BY LT. DAY Lt. Jason Day confirmed to LAist on the record that UCRPD did not report the less-lethal force deployment to the California DOJ, as required by AB 48. Day cited “capacity issues” and stated “A lot of times things are just going to have to get set aside.” This constitutes a documented, on-record acknowledgment by a command-level supervisor that a mandatory state reporting obligation under AB 48 was consciously not fulfilled. This is distinct from an absence of data: it is an articulated, on-record explanation for deliberate non-reporting. |
| Source(s) | LAist, September 12, 2025 — laist.com/news/criminal-justice/uc-campus-police-protest-reporting-law; LAist — AB 48 Enforcement Gap — laist.com/news/politics/california-weapons-protests-reporting-requirements |
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Description | The City of Riverside filed suit against the UC Regents and UCR in Riverside Superior Court over UCR’s Long Range Development Plan. Among the city’s documented allegations: “The UCR Police Department has been partially defunded, despite an ‘anticipated increase in crime and livability issues’ on campus due to growth.” The Police Accountability Board had separately documented a 50% year-to-date increase in calls for service with no corresponding staffing increase. |
| Applicable Law / Reporting | CEQA (California Environmental Quality Act); institutional capacity and public safety obligations |
| Compliance Status | N/A — CIVIL LITIGATION Not a POST-reportable incident. Included to document the publicly stated relationship between documented understaffing and the department’s acknowledged reporting failures. |
| Source(s) | City of Riverside vs. UC Regents, Riverside Superior Court, August 23, 2024 (court filing; no public URL identified) |
| Mandate | Requirement | UCRPD Status | Evidence / Factual Basis | Source(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AB 48 (PC §§13652, 13652.1) Effective January 1, 2022 |
Requires every law enforcement agency to document and publicly report any use of kinetic energy projectiles and chemical agents during protests or demonstrations within 60 days (extendable to 90). Requires monthly use-of-force reporting. Reports must include: crowd size, number of officers, type of projectile/agent, rounds deployed, injuries documented, and justification including de-escalation tactics attempted. | NOT COMPLIANT | UCRPD not listed on the California DOJ’s statewide AB 48 reporting webpage. Lt. Jason Day confirmed to LAist that a UCRPD less-lethal force deployment during Berkeley mutual aid was not reported to the DOJ, as required by AB 48. Day cited “capacity issues” and stated: “A lot of times things are just going to have to get set aside.” The LAist investigation is framed exclusively within AB 48’s crowd-control weapon (less-lethal projectiles and chemical agents) reporting framework. UCRPD requested more than $10,000 worth of less-lethal munitions in September 2024. Only UCLA was compliant among all 10 UC campus police departments. | LAist, September 12, 2025 |
| SB 1421 (PC §832.7) Effective January 1, 2019 |
Requires release of records relating to officer-involved shootings, use of force resulting in great bodily injury or death, sustained sexual assault findings, and sustained dishonesty findings. | DOCUMENTED NON-DISCLOSURE — AS OF MAY 2020 REVIEW | Voice of San Diego investigation (May 12, 2020) found UCRPD acknowledged holding one record (likely the 2018 Garcia fatal OIS) but refused to release it, citing a pending investigation — two years after the shooting. Across the UC system, only two case files were released despite more than 200 recorded use-of-force incidents. Current disclosure status not independently verified as of March 2026. | Voice of San Diego, May 12, 2020; UAW 2865, February 2021 |
| AB 748 (PC §832.7(b)(1)) Effective July 1, 2019 |
Requires release of body camera footage within 45 days of a critical incident (OIS, use of force causing great bodily injury or death). Extensions permitted for active investigations. | NO PUBLIC DISCLOSURES LOCATED | UCRPD deployed WatchGuard Vista XLT body-worn cameras in Fall 2019 as part of a UC systemwide initiative. Officers must activate cameras prior to any law enforcement action involving the public. Footage is retained for two years. No public disclosures of body camera footage under AB 748 were located during research. NOTE: AB 748 did not apply to the 2018 Garcia OIS as the statute took effect July 1, 2019 — after the shooting occurred on July 22–23, 2018. For the 2024 Berkeley mutual aid less-lethal force deployment, AB 748 may apply to UCRPD as the deploying agency; no body camera footage disclosure has been located in available records. | UC systemwide BWC policy (Chapter 15, UC Universitywide Police Policies); Inside UCR, September 22, 2019 |
| AB 481 (Gov. Code §7070 et seq.) Effective January 1, 2022 |
Requires governing body approval for acquisition and use of military equipment; annual military equipment use reports. | COMPLIANT | UCRPD has published AB 481 reports and presented compliance updates to the Police Accountability Board. Approved $10,000+ less-lethal munitions request at September 2024 Regents meeting. | UCR PAB meeting minutes |
| Brady/Giglio Disclosure Obligations |
Under Brady v. Maryland (1963) and Giglio v. United States (1972), prosecutors must disclose material impeachment evidence about law enforcement witnesses. Agencies must maintain and disclose Brady lists of officers with sustained dishonesty or misconduct findings. | THREE OFFICERS LISTED IN THIRD-PARTY DATABASE — DATABASE NOTES NON-COMPLIANCE WITH BRADY DISCLOSURE | Third-party Brady/Giglio database lists at least three UCRPD-affiliated individuals — Gregory Lynch, Lieutenant James Wright (current rank), and Brandon Anderson — and specifically notes that UCRPD is “not in compliance with their Brady disclosure obligations.” The foregoing reflects the notation of the third-party database itself. Readers are directed to verify independently through the referenced database and through the Riverside County District Attorney’s Office. A Brady-listed officer in a current lieutenant (supervisory/command) role raises additional documented concerns under SB 2 decertification criteria. | Brady/Giglio List database — giglio-bradylist.com |
| Clery Act (20 U.S.C. §1092(f)) Effective 1990 |
Requires institutions participating in federal student aid to disclose campus crime statistics, maintain daily crime logs, issue timely warnings, and publish Annual Security Reports. | NO VIOLATIONS IDENTIFIED | Clery Act Annual Security and Fire Safety Report published annually through UCR’s Chief Compliance Office. 2025 report (covering 2022–2024 data) available at compliance.ucr.edu. No Clery Act violations or Department of Education sanctions against UCR identified during research. NOTE: The March 2019 patrol vehicle/pedestrian collision occurred without a Crime Alert — timely warning obligation not independently resolved. | compliance.ucr.edu; Inside UCR, September 27, 2023 |
| RIPA / AB 953 Effective January 2022 (UC PDs) |
Racial and Identity Profiling Act requires collection and reporting of stop data including perceived demographic characteristics. | DATA COLLECTION COMPLIANT; GRANULAR DATA NOT PUBLIC | UC campus police departments began collecting RIPA data by January 2022 with reporting due to CA DOJ by April 2023. UCR campus progress reports confirm compliance with data collection. Stop data published on UC Community Safety Data Dashboards. Granular stop-data breakdowns by race for UCRPD specifically were not publicly accessible in disaggregated form during this research. | UC Community Safety Data Dashboards; UCR Campus Progress Reports |
| SB 2 / Kenneth Ross Jr. Decertification Act Effective January 1, 2023 |
Establishes POST authority to investigate and decertify peace officers for qualifying serious misconduct. | NO DECERTIFICATION ACTIONS IDENTIFIED | No POST Commission decertification actions under SB 2 found against any UCRPD officer during research. The three officers listed in the third-party Brady/Giglio database (Lynch, Wright, Anderson) and the on-record AB 48 non-compliance admission by Lt. Day may warrant POST review under SB 2 criteria. | POST Commission records; UCRPD dossier research |
Note: The third-party Brady/Giglio database specifically notes that UCRPD is “not in compliance with their Brady disclosure obligations.” The following entries reflect the information available in that database as of the research date. These entries are facts as documented in the third-party database; the database’s own notation is documented here for completeness. Readers are directed to verify independently through the referenced database and through the Riverside County District Attorney’s Office.
| Officer Name | Rank / Status | Brady/Giglio Database Entry | Implications for POST | Source(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gregory Lynch | UCRPD-affiliated (rank not specified in database) | Appears on third-party Brady/Giglio database as UCRPD-affiliated individual. | Brady-listed officers present material impeachment issues for any criminal case in which they testify. Under SB 2, sustained findings of dishonesty may trigger POST decertification review. Prosecutors have disclosure obligations under Brady v. Maryland (1963). | Brady/Giglio List database — giglio-bradylist.com |
| James Wright | Current Lieutenant, UCRPD | Appears on third-party Brady/Giglio database as UCRPD-affiliated individual. Currently holds the rank of lieutenant — a supervisory and command position. | A Brady-listed officer in a supervisory/command role raises additional documented concerns: Lt. Wright oversees subordinate officers, reviews use-of-force reports, and may serve as incident commander. Under SB 2, POST may review whether the underlying conduct warrants decertification inquiry. Lt. Day’s admission that reporting obligations are “set aside” was made by a lieutenant — indicating command-level awareness of non-compliance. | Brady/Giglio List database — giglio-bradylist.com |
| Brandon Anderson | UCRPD-affiliated (rank not specified in database) | Appears on third-party Brady/Giglio database as UCRPD-affiliated individual. | Same Brady/Giglio disclosure and SB 2 decertification implications as above. | Brady/Giglio List database — giglio-bradylist.com |
| Period | Chief / Role | Key Facts During Tenure | POST-Relevant Notes | Source(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-mid-1990s | Chief Bill Howe | Served in an undetermined period prior to the mid-1990s. After retiring, Howe chaired the City of Riverside’s first Community Police Review Commission, formed in the aftermath of the 1998 fatal police shooting of Tyisha Miller, and joined the Riverside Coalition for Police Accountability. | Predates most current reporting mandates. Post-retirement civic engagement documented. | The Press-Enterprise, December 19, 2014 — pressenterprise.com |
| c. 1996 – June 29, 2020 (~24 years) | Chief Mike Lane | One of the longest tenures of any UC police chief in the UC system. Presided over: the 2012 UC Regents meeting pepper ball deployment; the 2013 racial profiling controversy involving multiple African-American graduate and undergraduate students; the July 2018 fatal officer-involved shooting of Juan Garcia; and the March 2019 patrol vehicle/pedestrian collision. Retired June 29, 2020, during the national reckoning following the death of George Floyd. Black Student Union called for defunding the department in 2020. | The 2018 Garcia OIS occurred on his watch. The SB 1421 record for that OIS was not released during his tenure. The 2012 pepper ball deployment was the last known use of impact rounds from a launcher by UCRPD. The 2013 racial profiling controversy was documented by the UAW 2865 report as the most frequently cited example of UCRPD racial profiling. | Inside UCR, June 19, 2020; CalMatters, June 2020 |
| June 2020 – February 2022 | Interim Chief John Freese | 27-year UCRPD veteran and UCR alumnus. Served as Assistant Chief before stepping up as Interim Chief following Chief Lane’s retirement amid the national post-Floyd policing reckoning. Managed department during the first wave of post-Floyd reform discussions. | SB 1421 record for the 2018 Garcia OIS remained unreleased during this period. Voice of San Diego reported the refusal in May 2020. | Inside UCR, June 19, 2020 |
| February – December 2022 | Interim Chief Anthony Frisbee | Brought from UC Irvine (17 years of UC police experience). The Police Accountability Board was established during his interim tenure (operational February 3, 2023). Subsequently became Chief of Police at CSU Fullerton. | PAB established during this period. Transitional appointment with cross-UC institutional experience. | Inside UCR, January 28, 2022; Inside UCR, March 1, 2022 |
| December 12, 2022 – Present | Chief Jeffrey “Jeff” Talbott Director of Campus Safety Services & Chief of Police |
Riverside native. 29 years California Highway Patrol (retired as Chief, Inland Division). 11 years University of Redlands (non-sworn public safety department). Reports to Dr. Denise Woods, Vice Chancellor for Health, Well-Being and Safety. Presides over: the 2024 peaceful encampment resolution (zero arrests); the 2024 unreported Berkeley mutual aid less-lethal force deployment; ongoing AB 48 non-compliance confirmed on record by Lt. Day; a documented SB 1421 non-disclosure as of the May 2020 review (current disclosure status not independently verified as of March 2026); and three UCRPD-affiliated officers appearing on the third-party Brady/Giglio database, which notes UCRPD is not in compliance with Brady disclosure obligations. | The unreported 2024 Berkeley mutual aid less-lethal force deployment and Lt. Day’s on-record admission of deliberate AB 48 non-compliance (“things are just going to have to get set aside”) occurred under Talbott’s command. AB 48 non-compliance confirmed by LAist, September 2025. Three UCRPD-affiliated officers appear in the third-party Brady/Giglio database, which notes that UCRPD is “not in compliance with their Brady disclosure obligations.” SB 1421 non-disclosure documented as of May 2020; current status not independently verified. | Inside UCR, December 6, 2022; Inside UCR, February 13, 2023 |
All 36 sources listed below are the actual underlying documents identified through research. URLs are provided for independent verification wherever available. Sources 33–36 were added during the March 15, 2026 revision to support the Incident 7 Gaza encampment comparative arrest figures.
Primary Submission: California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) — Peace Officer Standards Accountability Division (POSAD) — Authority: Cal. Penal Code §§ 13509.5, 13510.8, 13510.85 (SB 2 — Kenneth Ross Jr. Police Decertification Act of 2021)
Secondary Submissions: California Attorney General, Civil Rights Enforcement Section (Cal. Civ. Code § 52.3) | U.S. Department of Education, Federal Student Aid — Clery Act Enforcement (20 U.S.C. § 1092(f)) | California Legislature, Senate & Assembly Budget Subcommittees on Education | UC Office of the President | California State Auditor | U.S. Department of Justice (34 U.S.C. § 12601)
Distribution: Clery Center for Campus Safety | SAFE Campuses, LLC
All documents compiled from public records. All facts independently verifiable. Readers are encouraged to form their own independent conclusions.